Annual Awards Celebration Held in June

Programs and Services

This year’s 2021 Annual Business Meeting was a wonderful celebration held this June to honor four people that who have shown exceptional dedication and excellence at The Arc of Monroe. Held at the RIT Inn & Conference Center, four awards were presented, including the Weckesser Award, Walsh Award, Roger J. Robach Award and Robert & Winifred Wagner Award.

Dorothy Gilvens (left) received the Weckesser Award.

Weckesser Award
In 1998, The Weckesser Family established the Weckesser Award as a means to honor an individual who receives services at The Arc of Monroe. Nominees included Clyde Tisdale and Sue Wheeler, while this year’s winner was Dorothy Gilvens. Dorothy was celebrated for her determination, resiliency and for being a role-model to others. She continues to overcome any obstacle that comes her way with kindness, positivity, and the biggest smile.

Walsh Award
The family of Kevin Walsh established the Kevin Walsh award in 1997. Kevin had been a participant of The Arc of Monroe’s Vocational Program until his passing in 1997. This award is presented to an individual who attends or receives services from one

Brandon Wolf (third from right) received the Walsh Award.

of The Arc’s Employment Services Programs. Alexis Overton was a nominee of the award, while this year’s winner was   Brandon Wolf. Brandon Wolf has been employed with Wegmans in Irondequoit for 4 and ½ years. During the pandemic, Brandon persevered and always showed up for his shifts with a positive attitude. Brandon is always seen assisting coworkers, carrying himself professionally, and being flexible to accommodate his department’s needs.




Michelle Frisbee (second from right) received the Roger J. Robach Award.

Roger J. Robach Award
Presented by Mrs. Terri Robach, the nominees for this award were Debbie Canton, Don Piatek, and Elouise Roberts, while Michelle Frisbee received the award. Chosen for the amazing manager skills she provides to the ten people that attend the Arc’s MCC Experience program, Michelle oversees two Community Prevoc Specialists; however, one position was vacant for much of 2020, putting more of the day to day burden of the classroom on Michelle’s shoulders. She is a champion for advocacy and assists people supported to share their voice in political arenas and anywhere a voice needs to be heard.



Robert & Winifred Wagner Award
The Robert and Winifred Wagner Award is given to an Arc employee in recognition of their special commitment to The Arc of Monroe and its Core Values of Empathy, Excellence, Ingenuity, Perseverance, Camaraderie, and Integrity. This year Vanessa Fortin and Keeley Rice were nominees, while Daniel JaFolla was the winner. Daniel has been an LPN for the Arc for 6 years and continuously strives to enhance his knowledge to best care for the people we support. He has always gone above and beyond but most recently, during the COVID-19 pandemic. Dan’s actions showed that he truly believes in the Mission and Vision of the Arc of Monroe.

Tracy Petrichick, acting president/CEO for The Arc congratulated the winners and praised everyone for their perseverance and resilience during the past year. She also extend a thank you to Dan Phillips, Chairman of the Board for The Arc of Monroe, for completing his term as Chairman and for continuing to participate on the Board.

Daniel JaFolla (left) received the Robert & Winifred Wagner Award.

“We are excited about what the future holds as we continue to look for ways to grow and enhance our services and help make the lives of the people we support as fulfilling as possible,” she said.