Overall, we were pleased to see that both the NYS Senate and Assembly included an additional 1.7% increase to the Cost-of-Living Adjustment (COLA) in their respective one-house budgets. Along with the governor’s proposed 1.5% COLA, this 3.2% increase would satisfy a portion of our budget request.

Unfortunately, the language in both one-house bills stating how the COLA could be allocated was too narrow in scope and does not take into consideration that the continuum of supports and services involves more that direct-care staff, despite their integral role. Limiting the COLA ignores the other critical facets of our system, including transportation, technology, facilities maintenance, and even food for the people we support, just to name a few.

We thank the Senate for including the Direct Support Wage Enhancement (DSWE), however it was omitted in the Assembly’s one-house bill and the Executive Budget. We need both the COLA and the DSWE if we are going to address the crisis to our workforce and support infrastructure.

Image
Image





The Arc of Monroe Contacts

Tracy Petrichick
President/CEO
(585) 672-2233
tpetrichick@arcmonroe.org

Mike Catalano
Vice President of Business Operations
(585) 698-1334
mcatalano@arcmonroe.org

Kathryn Davidson
Job Path Employment Services
(585) 256-7330 x2529
kdavidson@arcmonroe.org
http://jobpathrochester.org/

Mike Czora
General Manager, ArcWorks
(585) 698-1334
mczora@arcmonroe.org
https://arcworksrochester.org/

Tracy Crosby
Executive Director, The Arc Foundation of Monroe
(585) 672-2228
tcrosby@arcmonroe.org

Bekka Fifield
Advocacy Manager
(315) 955-9310
rfifield@arcmonroe.org

Image
Image
Image

DIRECT SUPPORT PROFESSIONAL STATISTICS AND FACTS IN THE US

Source: Zippia.com
Research Summary: Using a database of 30 million profiles, Zippia estimates demographics and statistics for direct support professionals in the United States. Our estimates are verified against BLS, Census, and current job openings data for accuracy. After extensive research and analysis, Zippia's data science team found that:

46.3
Average Age of a DSP

Female - 71%
Male - 25%

DSP Gender

High School Diploma - 23%
Bachelor's Degree - 23%

Most Common Degree
$29,469
Annual DSP Pay
50%
Non-profits is the most common industry hiring DSPs
$11,000
Average Starting Salary for DSP

Thanks for visiting!

Learn More About The Arc of Monroe!

Image